Note to Readers

I have not received any compensation for writing this post other than a free digital or print copy of the book. I have no material connection to the brands, products, or services that I have mentioned. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Thursday, June 7, 2012

The Eternity Code & The Opal Deception - Eoin Colfer

Released July 2009

Eoin Colfer

Book Review by Tracy Farnsworth

With the newest book in the Artemis Fowl series coming out in July, many readers are returning the other books in the series. The Eternity Code is the third book in the series. In this book, Artemis' father's been found and will soon be coming home. Artemis isn't pleased that his father seems to be a changed man who wants to focus on family more than business. With that, Artemis creates an amazing cube, it has the potential to change the world, and he's ready to sell it to the most notorious man of them all.

His price is unique, he will give Jon Spiro, leader of Fission Chips, a certain amount of time to sell his stocks and buy heavily into Fowl Industries. Spiro will not be outwitted by a teenager and instead steals the C Cube. This theft leaves Artemis' esteemed and trusted bodyguard, Butler, dead. With the help of Holly, a fairy policewoman, Artemis hopes to bring Butler back to life and retrieve the C Cube before Spiro's staff figure out the unique technology behind it.

In book four, The Opal Deception, Opal Koboi, a pixie who wanted to destroy the fairy police, is out of her coma and wants to see Artemis pay for stopping her dastardly plans. First, however, she plans to put an end to Captain Holly Short and her commander, Root. The problem is that Artemis's mind was erased by the fairies the last time he was with them. This poses new problems for Artemis and the fairy police who haven't forgotten about Artemis.

With both of these books, readers watch Artemis grow from the evil, cunning mastermind into a softer, almost gentler version. Then once his memories are erased, he's back to his misdeeds, only there's a touch of kindness he can't explain. The writing is still snappy, Artemis still has his sharp, sarcastic tongue, and the action keeps the story moving. If you enjoyed the first two books in the series, you're going to love catching up with Artemis in these next two books.

No comments:

Post a Comment